Closed 8 May 2017

Opened 27 Feb 2017

Feedback Updated 20 Jun 2017

We Asked

Policing 2026 is a collaborative and strategic programme of work by the Scottish Police Authority (SPA) and Police Scotland, intended to transform policing in Scotland over the next decade.

Between February and May 2017 we asked the public, our staff, stakeholders and our partners for views on our draft strategy document, in particular:

  • whether it identified and acknowledged the main risks, challenges, opportunities and demands that are likely to impact on policing over the next 10 years
  • whether the main areas of focus and methods proposed are the right ones to deliver an improved policing service
  • about using public confidence as a key measure of success and effectiveness of performance
  • our approach to re-shaping our organisation with a workforce focussed on having the right skills and capacity to meet future challenges
  • if the strategy document was presented in a clear and understandable way

We also welcomed any other comments on the strategy and its impact.

You Said

We received 1715 responses to the consultation, supplemented by additional feedback we gathered from events and other activity with our staff, partners and the public, both before and during the consultation.

The strategy was well received with the majority agreeing with our proposals and approach across all questions.

Feedback was generally very positive about the vision set out in the strategy, the means of achieving it, and prospects for delivering sustained excellence in service and protection for the people of Scotland.

We Did

We undertook detailed analysis of the responses to the consultation and reviewed the strategy document against the feedback received.

As a result of the positive responses received there was no need to change the main elements of the strategy.

Some recurring themes were identified as a result of our analysis and you will see a stronger emphasis on the recognised value of our volunteer and charitable partners across the country. We have also reinforced our continued commitment to community planning to best serve local communities and to recognise the needs of our remote and rural communities. We have made more specific reference outlining our commitment to staff welfare and we have expanded on financial planning in response to comments about the future of police budgets over the next decade.

This helpful and constructive feedback about how we take the final strategy forward will also be built this into our implementation planning and future delivery.

The analysis report and responses to the consultation have now been published.

Results Updated 21 Jun 2017


Published Responses

View submitted responses where consent has been given to publish the response.


Policing in Scotland has a long and successful record of adapting to the changing demands and needs of people and communities. We are now setting out for consultation our proposed 10 year strategy, developed collaboratively by the SPA and Police Scotland, to ensure that scottish policing remains fit for the future.

Policing has undergone major change in recent years with the transition to a single service. Despite the scale of the change, the most significant in policing in more than a generation, communities have continued to benefit from a service which has performed strongly through the activity of both local and national resources.

However, Scotland’s communities continue to diversify and grow, and the needs of people in society are changing. Demands on policing are growing as the world around us changes at rapid pace. In order to meet the evolving needs of all Scotland’s communities we must also continue to change. Our draft strategy sets out why we must change, what will change and how we will make the change happen.

Why We Are Consulting

The strategy is a draft version.  We are seeking your views and input to help us shape the final publication.

We want to meaningfully involve our communities, our staff and our stakeholders in the future delivery of policing services.

We are reaching out in a pro-active way, ensuring the broadest and most diverse range of recipients possible have the chance to inform and influence our final strategy.

We have made it as easy as possible for you to submit responses, via this digital platform.

Alternatively you can respond in writing to:

Policing 2026 Consultation
Clyde Gateway
2 French Street
G40 4EH

Thank you for taking the time to visit this site and helping shape the future of policing.

Please click here to read our Strategy







What Happens Next

After the consultation closes on the 8th May, the submissions will be reviewed and analysed.

We will be fully transparent regarding the responses and we will publish, those we have permission to, on this site as soon as we can after the consultation has closed.

We will also prepare a consultation analysis report, which will summarise the feedback and potential changes to the Policing 2026 Strategy. A copy of this report will be published on this website when it is complete.

After evaluation and feedback, the SPA board will recommend a final strategy to the cabinet secretary for justice for approval in June.

Detailed three-year implementation plans will then be developed to set out how the SPA and Police Scotland will meet new and existing demands and deliver improved benefits for communities across Scotland.

We shall update the webpage once the final version of the strategy is completed, clearly showing any changes that have been made as a result of your feedback.



  • All Areas


  • Anyone from any background


  • Consultation